Silhouette Birthday Box

It’s my friend Jenni’s birthday this week, and since she just got an iPad for her classroom, I wanted to give her an iTunes gift card.  But a gift card is kinda boring.  I thought I could cutesy it up a bit.  The Silhouette store had a sale with 1/2 price shapes, so I picked up a couple of gift card holders.  One was this Happy Birthday Gift Card Box.  I wasn’t sure how easy or difficult it would be to do a box with all the parts that have to be folded and glued, but it actually wasn’t hard.

I first thought I would make it with printed paper.  I knew cardstock would be sturdier, but this paper is so pretty!  Alas, it didn’t really work.  
photo_4
I’m not sure exactly why this happened…but the “Happy Birthday” cutout was ruined. I was using a mat that had some paper scraps/residue on it.  After it was done cutting I checked the blade and there was some paper around it, but that could have been from this paper.  So I scrapped it and decided to try cardstock on a new cutting mat.

The cardstock was better.  The shape has 3 pieces–the outer box, and inner card holder, and a top lid that has the “Happy Birthday” cut out.  The printed paper (above) card holder was actually okay, so I kept that, and cut out the bottom box and the lid out of cardstock.

photo_3

The shape is kind of nice because it cuts the wording out, but only scores the folds.  So the box actually seems decently sturdy (for a paper box) when you fold it.  I first started taping the box together, but it looked messy.  Instead I found some glue dots, and they basically disappeared as I put it together.

The inside card holder fit easily into the box, and fit my gift card perfectly.  I like that it’s lower than the top of the box, but still makes the gift card look kind of important.  You can see in the picture it has 2 tabs on either side (near the circles) to hold the gift card.

photo_2

photo_1

Overall, I love it!  I’d like to try it again with paper and see if I can get that to work, but even with cardstock it turned out pretty well.  Definitely a step up over a plain gift card in an envelope.

photo

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafty, Silhouette

Leave a Reply

