November Thanks, #4

Today I am thankful for The Church.  Not jut my church, the church I attend, but the Body.  The people who have, throughout my life, shown me Christ.  Sure, sometimes they’ve done that terribly (if we’re really honest), and lately my relationship with church has felt tenuous, but I am still thankful for it.

I was in “Death of  a Hired Man” in high school, and I’ve thought often about the line “Home is the place where, when you have to go there, they have to take you in.”  It never quite rang true to me.  Plenty of families abandon their children, either by choice or because they aren’t capable, or whatever.  But the Church…the church seems like the place where when you go there, they have to take you in.  Because it’s a family of broken people.  So it’s messy, and hurtful and all of that, but above all it’s Hope.  If I trace my church experiences from growing up until now, it’s a winding journey…lots of people, denominations, ideas, arguments, hymns, and on and on.  And in and amongst it all, I’m grateful that God has shown me one of the things that’s important about the Church–it’s about the Body, God’s people coming together to worship, and to love our neighbors as ourselves.

Leave a comment

Filed under church, November Thanks

Leave a Reply

