November Thanks, #1-3

It seems that thankfulness has become a thing for November.  Which is great.  And honestly makes me want to be a little snarky.  Because really, shouldn’t we be thankful year round?  And that snarkiness reminds me how little I follow through with being grateful.  Reading 1,000 Gifts is helping, but really I’m no better (and probably worse) than a lot of other people at counting my blessings.  So here goes.

November 1:  Light.  Sunrises and open skies and reminders of God’s mercies being new every morning.  My commute is always good for reflection, but lately I’ve come to see such beauty in the open spaces.  And always, Numbers 6: The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face shine on you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.

November 2:  A reliable car.  Sure, it’s not as breathtaking as the sunrises, but as I looked at my odometer passing 94,000 miles, I was thankful that in the 3+ years I’ve been commuting, I haven’t had any major troubles.  The Civic is reliable and for that I am thankful.

November 3:  The TV show Parenthood.  I’m a series girl.  I like to have something whole to watch.  The last series that really got me, that I thought about a lot, was Friday Night Lights.  This time, it’s Parenthood.  Again, I think it could be a surface thing, but this show has got to me, wrecked me, maybe, though I’m not sure exactly what that means.  One of the main characters on the show has Asperger’s Syndrome.

And I love that for so many reasons.  Kids with Asperger’s are a large part of my caseload, and according to the CDC,  somewhere around 1 in 88 kids have Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD).  I’ve found myself in tears a number of times while watching some of the storylines around Max.  For kids with ASD, the challenges are huge.  As a professional, I’ve gotten so used to working with these kids, I’d sort of forgotten what a big deal it is for families with kids with ASD.  The Braverman’s have reminded me.  I would also guess they’ve educated a lot of people in the general public about what kinds of situations might be hard for kids with ASD.  And it’s done in such a….heartful way.  Max’s character is clearly loved, not just by his parents but also by his family and community.  In a lot of ways I think the show is also realistic about the hard stuff, both for his family and for Max.  Sure, there are some parts that seem like a caricature (mostly the Noel character), but overall what a great, heartfle way to introduce the public to ASD.

Leave a comment

Filed under November Thanks

Leave a Reply

