Why I Love My Job

So at the beginning of the year, I was a tad bit overwhelmed with my job.  Okay, pretty much panicking because I like to know everything and do it all perfectly (or at least as good or better than everyone else), and I like to know WHY we do everything.

And after 9 weeks of school, I feel like I’m getting a handle on things.  And more than that, I’m loving what I’m doing.  Not that I wasn’t before, but with some of the chaos in my brain sorted out and filed into categories, I feel like I have more space to figure it out and appreciate it.

I also have something to compare it with…when I left teaching, I was so glad to be finished, and to go into the business world and have a “real job.”  It didn’t take long for me to realize how good I had it as  a teacher in terms of how I like to work and what I like to do.  So this time around, I have perspective.

I’ve also been reading 1,000 Gifts, which certainly helps with perspective.

So, in no particular order, some of the reasons I love (and am thankful for!) my job:

  • My supervisor.  Oh my goodness, the woman is a saint.  I ask her a bazillion questions.  About really minute details.  And I ask for reasons…why do we check the box on the left instead of the right?  If we do this, then could we do that?  But what if we don’t do that, then does x happen?  Seriously, I want to know everything.  And she has been so gracious…she answers my questions, never makes me feel dumb, and sends me links to resources that answer why.  I’m not sure if we think alike or what, but I don’t seem to be grating on her last nerve…at least not yet.
  • My colleagues.  I work for a cooperative, and from the beginning people have been helpful.  And not just helpful when I ask them questions, but proactively, even when I’m overwhelmed and reverting to my task-oriented nature and maybe not being superfriendly, asking if they can help me.  And I can’t count how many times they (SLPs, OTs, PTs, Early Childhood peeps) have said “We all help each other out.  We really do.”  And it’s true…I am SO glad I listened to a friend on Twitter’s advice about checking out a Cooperative as a place to work.  Maybe they’re not all like this, but it has been such a blessing.
  • People care about how the work gets done.  You know how you can either just get a job done, or not really care about it being done but care about what it is you’re working on?  Like instead of just getting a report written, you care about what the scores mean, and how they impact treatment, and how best to explain a full scale IQ to a parent…my colleagues are like that.  I sat in what could have been a difficult meeting today and watched our school psych just do an amazing job.  And it’s one of those things where you can tell it’s not because she has to, or she’s just putting in the time…she cares. About the content, about the kid, and that is who I want to be.  So to be surrounded by others who think the same way is such a blessing.
  • My caseload.  Oh my, I can’t say this enough.  I. Am. So. Lucky.  Don’t get me wrong…I’m still busy.  I don’t have a lot of “free time” in my day, but I have enough time to see all my kids for as long as they need to be seen, and individually if they need it.  And, I have time to test and write reports.  Since that is part of my job.  When I was subbing as an intern, with 80 kids, that was an impossibility.  A travesty to the job, really.  And I love working for an organization that understands the value of doing your job WELL, not just being in compliance with the law.
  • The Colony.  I get to go to a Hutterite colony weekly, and I find it fascinating. Seriously.  I had a discussion about dating today with a teenage girl while I was waiting for a kid.  So. Interesting.

It’s not all unicorns and rainbows, there are some frustrations.  But not that many.  And for that I am very, very thankful.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Why I Love My Job

  1. Donna

    This is so good to hear, Bridget!

Leave a Reply

