The Way to Eat an Elephant

They say the way to eat an elephant is one bite at a time.  Well, that doesn’t really work for me.  I’m a planner.  And I like to do things well.  Not necessarily perfect, just better than everyone else.  So in order to do an adequate job of it, I’d really like to know exactly how tall and wide the elephant is, how many bites it takes the average person to finish, whether it will be cooked or raw, what age the elephant is since babies will be significantly smaller and more tender, where the elephant has come from and why I’m eating this particular one, and oh, yeah, exactly what we hope to accomplish by eating this specific elephant.

Which is why I did not sleep last night, at least not well.  I saw midnight, 3 AM, 5:30, and finally got up around 8:30.  On my last possible day for sleeping in…and the only thing I like to do more than sleep in is eat elephants.  Seriously.

Every time I woke up and looked at the alarm clock, my brain was barraged with thoughts about school starting.  Not complaints or fears, just unknowns.  How do you fill out a prior notice?  Where exactly will I find my students’ phone numbers? Should I bring hanging file folders to put the student folders in, or are they good like they are?

It’s all good stuff.  Great stuff, in fact.  I’ve spent a couple of days working in my therapy room and love getting into it.  And a few months from now, I’ll know exactly how to eat this elephant, trunk to tail.  For now,  practicing patience and knowing without a shadow of a doubt I am not in a control.  Which is a good lesson to learn.  Over and over and over again.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Way to Eat an Elephant

  1. Pingback: Dreaming About Elephants | bridgetde

  2. Pingback: Why I Love My Job | bridgetde

  3. Pingback: A Newbie’s Journey « Communicate

Leave a Reply

