Day 1

Today was day 1 of working out in the morning, before work.  It’s a long story really, of how I got to day 1.  A story that repeats itself.  A lot.  Working out has never come naturally to me, like sports never came naturally (I always did the sack race in the mandatory elementary school track meet).  But, 2 years ago when my doctor said my cholesterol was high, I knew I had to do something.  I’ve lost (and gained back) weight a few times, and it’s always tedious and frustrating.  Well, that’s mainly the gaining it back part.

A year ago, last summer, I was in the best shape I’d been in a long time.  I was biking a lot, working out 4-5 times a week, wearing shorts again for the first time in years.  This summer…not so much.  I fell off the wagon around Thanksgiving, and just never got back on.  Since history repeats itself when we don’t learn, I heard the same thing from my doc this year, and this time she threatened me with medication.

So I’m back at it.  I think morning workouts, though dreadfully early, are probably the only way I’ll stick with it long term.  But the whole headgame is always there.  The lies.  The thought process that says oh well, if I haven’t done worked out, I might as well eat like crazy.  Then you don’t feel like working out, blah, blah, blah.  Strangely enough, once you’re in it, the opposite happens.  I’m not there yet, but I know it’ll come.  And maybe next summer I’ll be wearing shorts again.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 1

  1. Pingback: Afternoon Workouts | bridgetde

  2. Pingback: The Gym | bridgetde

Leave a Reply

