Voila! Viola!


This is my new viola! I’ve been thinking about taking piano lessons again for quite a while, but was irked by the fact that I’d have to go to school to practice.

So, inspired by Donna’s recent foray into cello playing, I decided to go the string route and try the viola. It’s my first stringed instrument since I was four and played a tiny violin for about a year, entirely by ear with the Suzuki method. I’m not sure if I’m going to take lessons again, but I’ve rented the viola for three months so I’ll have a good long time to get used to it.

So far today I’ve figured out the first 7 notes of Mary Had a Little Lamb, and probably the same amount of Baa, Baa, Black Sheep…why is is that all the easy songs are about sheep?

Anyway, I’m looking forward to having a new hobby. It’s slightly more respectable than scrapbooking, and decidedly more effort. I’m taking names for my viola if anyone has suggestions. And Viola is definitely out.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Voila! Viola!

  1. Yay! Where did you rent it from?

  2. Yeah, I’m totally excited! I got it at the Starving Musician, mostly because they were the only ones open on Sunday, and actually had a viola for rent.I’m e-mailing with a teacher about lessons right now!Any name ideas, Donna?

  3. Is it a boy or girl? And do you know what country was it made in? That can be important ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. It’s German, made by Glaesel. I’m not sure if it’s a boy or a girl…how do you check with a viola?

  5. I guess they’re gender shifters- since you can choose. Or are musical instruments like boats, to where they’re generally female?For a girl…Frieda or Etta might be fun…For a boy…I’ve been a big fan of the name Gerhardt lately. But then again, you might want a name that begins with a V, so you can say “Victor the Viola”.

  6. Maybe Wiebke (with the “w” sounding like a v). Or I really like Etta too. I think she is a girl

  7. maybe you should go all out and name her wiebka etta.

  8. I think violas are female. All I can think of is Twelfth Night. Call it Cesario. (No, I haven’t been reading it but we did watch the movie.)

  9. I like Cesario, although it sounds a little bit like Cesarian. Anything more feminine, Ruth?

  10. I agree that violas are female, however, their tone lends to more of a alto…deep voice so I think the name should reflect that. How about Vivica the Viola.

  11. Cesario IS feminine, in that it’s Viola’s name when she’s dressed up as a man so that she can serve in Orsino’s court. ๐Ÿ™‚How about Olivia, if we’re sticking to the whole Twelfth Night theme?

  12. Obviously I haven’t read it. ๐Ÿ™‚After reading all the ideas, I’ve decided on Viktoria. Tomorrow night is my first lesson, yea!

  13. Viktoria the Viola – great choice. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

